HFM 2000



Highly Frustrated Magnetism 2000

June 11th-15th, 2000

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.

Invited Speakers

P. Azaria (U. Pierre et Marie Curie) A. Keren (Israel Institute of Tech.)
R. Ballou (Grenoble) K. Kojima (U. Tokyo)
S. Bramwell (U. College London.) S.-H. Lee (NIST)
C. Broholm (John Hopkins) C. Lhuillier (U. Pierre et Marie Curie)
B. Canals (Grenoble) P. Mendels (U. Paris-sud)
S.-W. Cheong (Bell Labs/Lucent Tech.) R. Moessner (Princeton)
H. Fukuyama (U. Tokyo) O. Petrenko (ISIS)
B. Gaulin (McMaster) V. Plakhty (Petersburg Nuclear Phys. Inst.)
M. Gingras (U. Waterloo) A. Ramirez (Bell Labs/Lucent Tech.)
J. Greedan (McMaster) P. Schiffer (U. Notre Dame)
C. Henley (Cornell) E. Vincent (Saclay)
D. Huse (Princeton) A. Wills (Grenoble)
H. Kawamura (Osaka)

Titles of Invited Talks


   Abstracts for Talks & Posters    

Conference Objectives
Frustrated magnetism is currently a rapid growth area for research in condensed matter physics. Although it has been studied since the 1950's, it has regained a much increased level of interest since the early 1990's following Anderson's suggestions that the cuprate superconductors may have quantum mechanically fluctuating magnetic ground states similar to that predicted for the triangular lattice antiferromagnet, the prototypical frustrated magnet. Since then - and particularly in the last 2 years - a number of key experimental and theoretical advances have been made, and it has been realised that frustration is a concept with far-reaching implications. For instance, recent work is beginning to answer very old and disparate questions such as the nature of spin glassiness, and the ground state of ice, H2O. This conference will be the first to concentrate on magnetic frustration, and there will be a strong tutorial element, with a number of prominent workers giving review presentations. However, the most important aspect will be to discuss the exciting advances in both theory and experiment of the last 2 years, through both invited and contributed presentations.
1. Classical and quantum systems in two and three dimensions.
2. Triangular and tetrahedral lattices: pyrochlores, garnets and spinels.
3. Chiral Universality Class.
4. Experimental Studies: heat capacity, magnetisation, neutron scattering, NMR, MuSR.
5. Computational Studies: Monte Carlo, molecular dynamics.
6. Synthesis and Characterisation of novel materials.

Registration, Conference Fees
and Accommodation

Accommodation is available both on campus and off campus. Be sure to get in early so that  you get the early bird fee!


Click here to go to the Registration and Accommodation web page

Take a  virtual campus tour of the University of Waterloo.

Abstract Submission

Participants are encouraged to submit one abstract for oral presentation, which will be refereed. The deadline for abstracts is May 5th, 2000.Those  speakers whose abstracts are selected for contributed talks will be notified by May 10th. 

Abstract not selected for contributed talks  will be automatically  accepted for poster presentation. The maximum poster size is 110cm high x 140cm wide.

Submission of an abstract can be completed in three easy steps.

1.  Download the abstract template (in simple LaTeX form).
2. Complete the template according to the instructions.
3. Return the template as the body of an email message to hfm2000@gandalf.uwaterloo.ca with  the last name of the presenting author as the subject heading.
You will receive notification of receipt of the abstract within two or three days.


We invite all HFM-2000 participants to submit a paper based on their HFM2000 presentation for the proceedings of the conference, which will be published in the Canadian Journal of Physics. The goal is to collect topical papers on various problems pertaining to frustrated magnetic systems. We are hoping that the proceedings will prove useful to researchers and graduate students, by providing a reference source for the field of frustrated magnetism which will serve as a record for both what is understood and what challenges remain in the field at the time of the conference.  An HFM-2000 participant must attend the conference and present their work in either poster or oral form in order for consideration of the relevant manuscript for publication. 

For participants giving contributed talks or posters at HFM2000
The deadline for submission of contributed papers to the proceedings is the first day of the conference, June 11th, 2000.  The length of the contributed papers should be no more than 3.5 "Physical Review B length" pages. 
Submission of contributed papers must be made by enclosing in an envelope 3 printed versions of the paper and an electronic version with postscript figures, stored on 3.5" floppy disk. Manuscripts should be written in LATEX or REVTEX, using standard full page preprint fomat . The envelope should be handed in during registration on the first day (June 11th, 2000) of the conference.
For participants giving invited talks
Invited speakers are also encouraged to submit a paper based on their talk for the proceedings.  The deadline for submission of  papers for invited speakers is August 1st 2000. The length of the papers for invited speakers  should be no more than 7 "Physical Review B length" pages. Manuscripts should be written in LATEX or REVTEX, using standard full page preprint fomat. 
Note: All manuscripts submitted for publication will be refereed according to the established procedures of the Canadian Journal of Physics .

Conference Schedule
While the detail of the conference schedule is yet to be finalised, the first session will begin Sunday, June 11 at 8:30am and the final session will end on Thursday, June 15 at noon.

Airport to Waterloo

Pearson International Airport is the main airport which services Toronto and the greater Toronto area. It is situated  approximately 60-90 minutes by car  from Waterloo. Airways Transit provides a reliable door to door transportation service from Pearson International Airport to Waterloo, and there is a discount fare of Cdn$29 one way  for HFM2000 particpants. We strongly advise you to book your transport directly with Airways Transit

Useful information when making your online reservation with Airways Transit.

Click on the `Make Reservations' button.
Your Pick-up point is Pearson International Airport.
Your Drop-off point is Waterloo.
Enter `HFM2000' in the 'Conference/Event Name' box in order to receive your discount fare.


Conference Secretary
Prof.  Michel Gingras
Canadian Institute of Advance Research
Department of Physics,  University of Waterloo
200 University Ave, Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3G1, CANADA
Tel: 1-519-888-4567 (ext. 5697)
Fax: 1-519-746-8115
Email: hfm2000@gandalf.uwaterloo.ca

International Advisory Committee Organising Committee
C Broholm, Johns Hopkins University, USA  B D Gaulin, McMaster University, Canada
B D Gaulin, McMaster University, Canada M J P Gingras, Waterloo University, Canada (Chair)
M J P Gingras, Waterloo University, Canada (Chair) M J Harris, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK
M J Harris, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK  P Schiffer, U. Notre Dame U.S.A.
P C W Holdsworth, ENS Lyon, France
H Kawamura, Kyoto Institute of Technology, Japan
A P Ramirez, Bell Laboratories/Lucent Tech., USA
P Schiffer, U. Notre Dame U.S.A.

Conference Sponsors

The Conference organisers would like to thank University of Waterloo, University of Notre Dame, University of Toronto, Brockhouse Institute for Materials Research McMaster University, and the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIAR) for financial support.